Reviewer Recommendations: April 2012

 

romance novel recommendations

Each month we post our romance novel recommendations. These are book we read and recommend, but were not necessarily released  in April.

 

Jen’s Recommendations:

Geez, did I read anything in April?  I think my life has turned into one big blur only to get worse over the upcoming months!  Thank goodness for GR and the ability to keep track of my books.  I didn’t have too many books that stuck out but I can give you a couple.

Lover Reborn by J.R Ward- I was admittedly not a fan of the last BDB installment (my Lover Unleashed thoughts) but this one more than made up for it.  I wasn’t 100% on board with the pairing of Tohr and No’One (Autumn) and Tohr was a big arse at times however there was so much to love about this book.  I felt like it finally put BDB back on the track of where it started.  Even Xcor, the supposed bad guy, was likable.  I am actually looking forward to what will be coming next with this series.  Samantha’s review

The Duke’s Perfect Wife by Jennifer Ashley- This book rocked for about 75% and then it fell into the “just ok” category.  It was still a great book and I loved reading about Hart, but I thought it could have been done so much better (and hotter).  Amy and Catherine summed up my thoughts perfectly in their review.

Revealed by Kate Noble- My first Kate Noble book and it won’t be my last.  I can’t wait to get my hands on more of her books.  See my review here.

 

Samantha’s Recommendations:

Well darn - commitments in my personal life left me with very little time to read in April. I have so many book reviews starred in my google reader with books I want to read that I can’t wait for some things to calm down so I can get to them.

Handle with Care by Josephine Myles - I think everybody should get to know Ollie! Such a lovely character. I just adored him. Looks like it’s time I start working through Myles’ backlist of books. I’ve really enjoyed her writing style and humor in both books I have read from her. She has a book titled Pole Star about an injured pole dancer. Looks like I know exactly where to start with the rest of her books. Review here.

Diversion by Eden Winters - An M/M rollicking good time. I know no other way to describe this book. Fans of Ty and Zane would probably really enjoy this book. Lucky is an ex-bad boy who’s now working for the right side of the law. He gets partnered up with Bo, an ex-Marine turned pharmacist turned drug addict. Sounds crazy right? But it all works so well. Trust me. So damn funny and totally sexy.

Cost of Repairs by A.M. Arthur - this book doesn’t release until June 5 and my review isn’t up yet at Fiction Vixen. But I just finished reading it and I felt I should get this on the radar of other M/M readers now. Such an emotional story with two well developed lead characters. I am such a sucker for the down on his luck but trying so hard young gay guy. Throw in a hot muscly cop and well….Sucks me in every time. There’s a lot going on this book and the author does a great job keeping all the various story lines wrapped together and each one has a purpose – to peel the layers away from the two male leads. Well done. Emotional. Great sex.

 

Amy’s Recommendations:

About That Night by Julie James- Julie James is quite simply a “sure thing” author for me.  Her contemporary books are fun, adorably sexy with authentic characters and real life issues.  Ms. James latest hero “smug dimples” aka Kyle Rhodes embodies every woman’s dream man.  Kyle knows how to treat a woman and you will not only be swooning over his sexy dimples but also his genuinely caring heart. Fiction Vixen Review

Sheltered by Charlotte Stein- After hearing the buzz about the cover and then the story I picked this up on a whim and was so glad I did!  You will instantly fall in love with Van, as I did, and the uniquely beautiful love story that develops. It’s sweet, sexy and dirty in the best of ways.  I continue to stalk Ms. Stein on twitter begging for a sequel.  Evie and Van’s life was just taking off when the story ended and I wanted so much more! Check out Mandi’s guest review at Fiction Vixen

Table for One by Ros Clarke- This was a surprisingly sexy, scrumptious story served in only 52 pages.  Chef Ward knows the art of seduction, both in the kitchen and the bedroom.  He will captivate you with his searing metallic blue eyes and his mouthwatering steak medallion.  Fiction Vixen Review

 

Sophia’s Recommendation’s

Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost: I’m a Vlad fan plain and simple so I was really excited for this first book in the Night Prince series. The story is told from the heroine’s POV so I was just a little bit bummed that we didn’t get more Vlad-ness. BUT, the story was awesome, the heroine is great and I’ve very excited about this new series from Jeaniene Frost.

Lover Reborn by J.R Ward: This book tore me to bits and pieces. I struggled all the way through as books that deal with grief are always difficult for me to read. This was not an easy road for Tohr and No’One, and Ward pulled no punches. While I didn’t love the ending, this book brings back the feel of the earlier books and reminds me of why I love this series so much. Samantha’s review

 

Ok, that’s it for us this month. What did you read in April that you can recommend?

Comments

  1. says

    I wholeheartedly also rec Lover Reborn but there are two books that wow-ed me in April: Kristen Callihan with Firelight, just awesome gothic historical, the setting, the characters, the plot, it all meshed into a fantastic read :D And then I just read Nora Roberts’ The Witness which just was old skool NR romance, lots of fantastic dialogues, great smalltown setting but most of all quirky yet charming characters to fall for ;)

    Both these books took me by surprise and definitely made my april that much more fun!

  2. says

    I hope to get acquainted with Ollie soon, Samantha! :)

    Two m/m books that stood out for me in April are Take Me Home by Sloan Parker and Bad Boyfriend by KA Mitchell, both ‘older’ books (from the end of last year even), but worth mentioning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.