Review: Wanted by J. Kenner

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey, Bared to You, and Release Me comes an all-new erotic series of three enigmatic and powerful men, and the striking women who can bring them to their knees.

Wanted J Kenner Most Wanted series book 1Blurbs like this were written just for me.  I know, I know….I don’t pick up these books looking for the next Anna Karenina.  I pick them up for an hour or two of complete mind blanking reading.  Maybe I should learn that I will get exactly what I expect.

Wanted opens up at a party for Angie’s recently deceased uncle.  He has died of an aneurysm and now Angie is lost.  He was the one person in her life who understood and supported her.  Angie is feeling lost and out of control, on the verge of doing something very bad.  An adrenaline rush is the only way she know how to lose the feeling of helplessness and she want that rush with Evan Black.

Evan and his two friends, Cole and Tyler, have been around since Angie was 16.  They were introduced to her by her uncle, warned off by her uncle and because of that Evan has never touched her.  The night of the party is the first time he has left desire for her show in his eyes and now that Angie has seen it she is going after it.  Knowing that Evan isn’t as invincible as he seems gives her that opening she has been waiting for.

On the outside the story seems like one I would really enjoy.  It has all the elements I can’t resist, young girl, dominant man, both have a dark past…but it didn’t pan out like that.  I never connected with Evan.  I think it came to a point where I just got tired of him saying that he was bad for her, starting things up and then calling them off before anything really good happened.  We know it was going to happen so why did I have to wait 60%+ of the book for him actually break down?  I felt like yelling, DUDE if you don’t want her then stop teasing her!

Angie was a struggle to like also.  She said “Oh” so many times in Evan’s presence that I wanted to reach in the book and smack her.  How do supposedly intelligent women lose their damn minds when a hot guy comes around?  She can’t even form a normal sentence that doesn’t say “Oh” or “Fuck you, I want you.  Why won’t you have me?”  I think I have hit a point where there has to be more than this to a book to satisfy me.

Sadly, I had to put Wanted down at around the 68%.  The characters didn’t work for me and I didn’t feel like the story was going anywhere I wanted to follow.  I did enjoy Ms. Kenner’s Stark trilogy so if you are looking for something by her, I do recommend those books.  Final grade- DNF

Rating: DNF
Wanted by J. Kenner
January 7th 2014 by Bantam
GoodReads || Amazon || Barnes & Noble || Sony || Kobo

Subscribe via email

Comments

  1. says

    I’ve already had a few DNF’s this year. Mostly because of what you said:

    “The characters didn’t work for me and I didn’t feel like the story was going anywhere I wanted to follow.”

    I’m hoping I break out of the “meh” mode soon.

  2. says

    I thought I would like this more, but I liked it alright. There were an awful lot of “oh” moments now that you mention it! This won’t be a reread for me but I’m interested in the other two “knights” in the series.