If You Like: Then You Should Read: (Ty and Zane – Cut & Run Edition)

Recently I started the Cut & Run series by Abigail Roux.  It was my first foray into m/m romance.  I read Lover At Last several weeks ago however there was so much going on that it didn’t feel like a true m/m.  I wasn’t sure what to expect from a m/m romance but let me tell you, I am completely hooked.  I am obsessively in love with Ty and Zane.  Any given moment I can switch which one I love more but I have come to realize I adore them both.  There is no question that I need more of this.  I will try to explain what I love about the Cut & Run series and maybe y’all can give me some other similar books to try?

Cut & Run Series

Two Alpha Males
In most of my romance novels there is a dominant partner and a much less dominant partner. I have grown quite used to that formula.  With Ty and Zane, there is no following of that formula.  Both of them are alpha to the extreme.  They are FBI agents and need to be strong and dominant to do their jobs and ultimately to challenge each other.  When one of them bottoms and is still dominant from the bottom, gah…I get all shivery just thinking about it.  At any given time they can switch who will be the forceful one.  I love this!  I love watching the struggle of two strong personalities try to mesh.

The angst
Oh, these two.  They are so messed up in the head.  Each of them have done things that make me bang my kindle on the nearest hard surface.  I love angst.  I need this angst.  For some reason I cannot read a book about happiness and smooth sailing.  What is the fun in that?

M/M
This one is obvious.  I am new to this genre. I have read nothing.  I do not even know popular authors or themes.  Who is good and who should I avoid?  Give me the good, bad and ugly.

The sexin’
Holy smokes, people.  Maybe, once again, it is because I am new to the genre but these sex scenes are combustible.  Or maybe that is just me after I read them.

Background Plot
If possible, I would like some background plot also.  I don’t know if that is very specific to Ty/Zane since they are a series but I like reading them have a life outside of each other.  I like reading them struggle to mesh a very difficult relationship with their lives.  And I love reading everything they do turn into a giant attack of fubar.

 

So those are the things I would like to read more about.  I don’t know if Ty/Zane are one of a kind (I suspect this might be the case) but I would like to try some other books to find out.  I appreciate any help you can offer!!

Comments

  1. says

    YEA!! So glad you liked. If your interested in reading more M/M, I really enjoy Josh Lanyon, Tere Michaels, J.L. Langley, Z.A. Maxfield, Damon Suede, KA Mitchell, Mary Calmes -just to name a few. :P

    • Angela says

      I should include the Cole McGinnis series by Rhys Ford in my list. My review for book 3 posted today. I really love this series.

      • Amy Darling says

        I have not started this series yet but i did read Sinner’s Gin by Rhys Ford and LOVED it. I can’t wait for the nexrt book Whiskey and Wry.

      • says

        I didn’t read your review. I saw the A grade and didn’t want to spoil it. I thought it might fit what I was looking for. Thanks for the others!

    • Amy Darling says

      Dark Soul by Aleksandr Voinov is on of the very first M/M books I read and I thought it was very good. Messed up and dark but i really liked it and would recomend it as well.

  2. Corina says

    Unfortunately the Cut & Run books are a form of crack all their own. But, based on your requirements, here are some reccs for you (in no particular order). All of these involve law enforcement of some kind, private investigators, spies, undercover cops …
    (1) Last Line by Harper Fox – two alphas, one horribly damaged, both completely miserable. The angst in this one is off the charts. Brainwashing! Torture! PTSD! It’s been a long time so I don’t remember if there’s any *good* sex that happens in here though. As with all Fox books, the writing is beautiful.
    (2) Mexican Heat by Laura Baumbach and Josh Lanyon – alphas, angsty, plotty, hot sex. Check check and check! The one thing I’d caution about this one is that I believe it was originally intended to be a series but there were never any follow-ups. It’s a complete story on its own, but it still makes me sad there aren’t more.
    (3) Private Dicks by Katie Allen – alphas, angsty, plotty, hot sex, two book series. I don’t think this one was quite as well-written as my first two recommendations, but I did enjoy them.
    (4) Like Pizza and Beer – So closeted he didn’t even realize he might be bisexual private investigator and bisexual but not really open about it mechanic who go from friends to lovers. This one is much lighter in tone and the angst level is about 60 notches lower. It’s another two book series. The romance is definitely there, but both books focus heavily on a central mystery so there’s lots of life stuff happening in addition to the developing relationship.

    I could go on and on, but there are only so many reading hours in a day and I’m curious to see what other people recommend!

      • Angela says

        I think Laura Baumbach has taken a hiatus from writing… She seems to have her hands full with running MLR Press. She has several books in series I like that I’ve been waiting on forever.

  3. Liz Fong says

    I’ve read loads of m/m romance in fanfiction but am fairly new to the authors in original fiction so this thread is timely. I hope to get some good recs to follow up on! ;)

    I also read Cut & Run after finishing Lover At Last and while taking a break (because omg the ANGST between Ty and Zane!) I’ve found the PsyCop series by Jordan Castillo Price to be really good. It’s a paranormal cop series and the stories are more novella length than full novel size but I’ve never felt like the plot suffered as a result. Check them out, she also has some free super short stories on her website.

  4. Lena says

    Nice to see someone else has fallen to the charms of Ty and Zane! just read Touch and Geaux and I’m haning on now for the next. Sorry no reccs they have all been covered previously, but I do have a question for you. In the list of the Cut and Run books I see one titled Dine and Dash. I have never seen this one or heard of it anywhere and a check at aRe doesn’t have it. Can you tell me more about it and where/when I can get it?
    Thank you!

  5. heather says

    Adrien English mystery series by Josh Lanyon! Angsty closeted cop and hot sexy bookseller, and the nice thing is the series is complete, you could gobble them all up in one week!

  6. says

    KA Mitchell and LA Witt are both fantastic standout authors in the M/M Genre. Also Amy Lane (beware though, she makes me cry a LOT), and Aleksandr Voinov. There are so many to choose from, but those four and Abigail Roux round out my top five!

    I too am a recent convert to Ty and Zane… I put off reading the series for so long because I was all “There are HOW MANY books?” Then I finally read them and holy hell, they are so my people. <3

    • Corina says

      KA Mitchell is one of my auto buys, Not Knowing Jack is one of my favorite books of all time. No Souvenirs is another one that would be ragged from the number of times I’ve read it if I had it in paper instead of pixels. Both have angst, plot, and power struggles. Her characters tend not to be as aggressively alpha as Ty and Zane because, well, they are chefs or underwater archaeologists or bartenders or surgeons (for example) rather than law enforcement types. But they’re truly truly wonderful.

    • says

      Ty/Zane are already breaking my heart! I don’t know if I can handle more. Oh who am I kidding? Bring on the angst. Thanks!

  7. Johanna J says

    I Adore the Cut and Series! Ty and Zane forever!!!! Lol! I’m a huge fan of m/m and can’t get enough and slways looking forward to reading new authors! You should try:

    A Matter of Time series by Mary Calmes
    The Adrien English mystery series by Josh Lanyon
    Too Stupid to Live by Anne TeninoTenino
    Anything written by L A Witt, Tara Lain, K. A. Mitchell, Tere Michaels and LB Gregg. Just to name a few favs.

  8. says

    *makes note of all recs*

    I’m like you. Ty & Zane were my first M/M and I love them like whoa. Was also looking for good recs, so I’ll check these out!

  9. Dani Koff K says

    I’m just going to give you a list of favorites: Caught Running by M Urban and Abigail Roux, Hot Head by Damon Suede ( 2 firefighters/best friends), Promises by Marie Sexton, Grey’s Awakening by Cameron Dane, Starfish and Coffee by Kele Moon. Enjoy!

  10. Alesa says

    I recently started reading Ty and Zane after seeing the recommendations on Smexy Books (thanks!) and am now both obsessed and in love!! I devoured the first five books without coming up for air/sleep etc. and am now forcing myself to have a break one because – oh the ANGST, I am exhausted – and two because there are only two more instalments of Ty and Zane available and so I am trying to stretch it out (this will not last long I already have withdrawal symptoms!). As for Ty or Zane – I also vacillate, they are both so alpha/hot/strong/built/tortured/loveable (see, obsessed!) but at the moment Zane still ahead by a hair – he is just so gorgeous and growly and deep :) PS Thanks, Angela, for the link to Dine and Dash that was a bonus. And the sex as aways is definitely combustible (Sighs) ;) x

  11. Ferishia says

    I am also a HUGE fan of m/m (I have 1 kindle that houses a majority if all my m/m reads) and of the Cut & Run series. I’d like to add to the pile of read recs:

    -A Deadly Game by J.P. Bowie ( I’ve only read the first book from this series, but I enjoyed it a lot)
    -Taking the Odds series by James Bucanan I have read all books so far. Very angsty-pull out your hair character
    -Holmes and Moriority series by Josh Lanyon
    I’ve just started this series and I think it has potential
    Cameron Dane has a security series the the name is escaping me right now but I would rec even though there is a m/f book included in the series.

    Happy m/m reading!

  12. Gemma says

    You have to read Aleksandr voinov’s special forces. This is the only series I have found that can compete with Ty and Zane, and it’s free! I almost didn’t read it because of how long it was but thank god I did. Check out Alek’s web page and you can download it from there.

  13. Otila says

    I also just discovered Ty and Zane about a month ago after seeing the series recommended on this blog and others. I LOVED it. I finished all 7 books in about a week. It was also my first foray into m/m and I started looking for more. I found this page and have read several of the recommendations here. I found some that I liked and some that I Ioved. I adored the Cole McGinnis series and Sinner’s Gin. I have to agree with Gemma that Aleksandr Voinov’s Special Forces is the closest I’ve gotten to competing with Ty and Zane. It has all your requirements: 2 alpha males, compustible sexin’, background plot and lots of angst (oh, the angst…my heart still hurts thinking about it). And I’ve only finished the first part, Soldiers. It is very dark, though.

    I like to add a recommendation that isn’t on here. Dani Alexander’s Shattered Glass. There’s not much sexin’ but the plot is great, the romance is sweet and it’s just so funny. It had me laughing out loud.

  14. kirina says

    Definitely “In the company of shadows” by Sonny & Ais
    But beware: it’s as much as addictive as the Cut&Run Series…

  15. chrissy says

    holy cow i just discovered the Cut & Run series. I just finished book 6. Ty and Zane are CRACK!! total book hangover every time! i’m afraid nothing will compare. I haven’t wanted fictional characters in my life in a LONG time!! I feel like I need a support group!

  16. says

    Ty & Zane are definitely in a league of their own! I recommend checking out Hot Head & Bad Idea by Damon Suade. Both are well-written, have great characters, romance and hot, hawt sex.

    Also check out Matter of Time by Mary Calmes. Her character Jory Keyes/Harcourt is amazing! He is so unique and real to me. There are times when Sam pissed me off, but he always manages to redeem himself. Excellent story with spot on emotional chemistry between the characters. I’m not talking only between Jory & Sam, but between Jory and everyone.

  17. Kenzie says

    Gah I still have many heart attacks thinking about Ty and Zane. Just out of curiousity have you read Warrior’s Cross and Shock & Awe by Abigail Roux and Madeliene Urban? One is CamxJulian’s and the other is NickxKelly. I swear it was the only thing that saved memfrom instantaneous combustion after T&G’s ending!

    I’d also like to quickly thank anyone who gave recommendations seeing as that I have something to keep me occupied so my heart doesn’t die waiting for the next book :)

Trackbacks