If You Like: Then You Should Read: (Shannon Stacey Edition)

I recently listened to the Kowalski Family series by Shannon Stacey. There are only three books so far and I need more now!  Each book left me giddy and ready to read (listen to) the next. I asked Twitter what I should read next to tide me over until the next Kowlaski book. Then I had an idea. Why not ask FV readers what they would recommend for Shannon Stacey fans? If you guys come through for me, I might make this a semi-regular feature so the pressure is on! :)

Exclusively Yours  Undeniably Yours  Yours To Keep

Here’s how we’ll do it: I’ll tell you what I liked about the Kowalski series, and you tell me what to read based on that.

I’m a big fan of romances that incorporate big families with lots of kids. I like endings and epilogues that involve babies, and weddings and all that. The Kowalski books have it and while they are a big happy family, they have their share of family trouble. But they are not dysfunctional. They make you want to be a part of the family and I really like that. They are a family that plays together. They interfere in each other’s lives a little bit but not too much and it’s always out of love.

I also like that these romances focus on the romance. No need for major external conflict, it’s just the couple and their developing relationship, figuring it all out among family and friends that love them.

Finally, I adore the secondary romances that develop throughout the stories. We had an established romances that had hard times, a second chance romance and in the third book, it was someone in the older generation that discovers a new relationship and I loved that.

I’ll be reading more from Shannon Stacey, but what other books can you recommend that you think will appeal to me based on what I’ve told you about the Kowalski Family series?

Fill in the blank: If you like Shannon Stacey’s Kolwalski Family series, then you should read ________. 

Comments

    • Maureen says

      I agree…the Chesapeak series is one of Nora Roberts best. I loved her older romances…I am not a fan of her newer books…they tend to be a little too violent for me…The 3 sisters trilogy, and the Garden trilogy were also very good…Happy reading…Just a thought…grab anything by Jude deveraux…her Edilean series is amazing…

  1. says

    I like this feature!! Love getting new recs!!

    Have you read the Chesapeake Bay series by Nora Roberts? Jill Shalvis is another author you should try (the Lucky Harbor series, and the Instan series are favorites of mine, also she has a baseball series that’s awesome although no kids or big families in them, unless you count the team), Susan Mallery’s trilogies and in general all her books fit the bill. And if you do like babies, tons of babies, you should love the Virgin River books by Robyn Carr… But you have to like babies, A LOT!

    ETA: @Shiloh Walker: Great minds think alike ;)

    • says

      So that’s two votes for the Chesapeake Bay series by Nora Roberts. :) I’ve read Jill Shalvis and like her books. I’ll have to try Susan Mallery and Robyn Carr. (I do like babies)

  2. Pam B says

    I have (recently) read the Kowalski books and I really enjoyed them. Several of books I would recommend are listed above (Virgin River, Lucky Harbor) however I did just find a fun series (two are available and the third on the way) by Candis Terry called – Sugar Shack series, they are about siblings. And I just found Victoria Dahl’s series – Donovan Brothers Brewery (I have read the first and will soon start the second). I need to come back to visit after there are more recs.

    Thanks
    Pam

    • says

      I never heard of the Sugar Shack series. I’ll take a look at those. I did ready the Donavan Brothers brewery series. The siblings were…well, they had communication issues lol.

      • Pam B says

        Yes those Donavan siblings seem to have trouble communicating. I thought of another series – have you read the Mari Carr Wild Irish series? I have read the first and have the second to read soon.

        This is fun.

        Pam

  3. says

    Wait, what?? You have never read Nora Roberts?? Pfft. I will third the NR recommendations for you.

    I read Exclusively Yours about two weeks ago and loved it. I can’t believe I hadn’t picked her up before.

    Are you wanting strictly contemps?

  4. Emily says

    I’ll second the Candis Terry books. There were fun. Although, I haven’t quite found anything I’ve enjoyed as much as Shannon Stacey’s series for the family dynamics and fun combined with good romance.

  5. Mary says

    I love the Shannon Stacey series. Along the same lines are series by Jill Shalvis, Robyn Carr, Susan Mallery, Linda Lael Miller, Sherryl Woods.

      • Jenifer says

        Linda Lael Miller’s Mckettrick/Creed series are some of my favorite books. The McKettricks series starts in the late 1880′s with 4 books about 4 brothers & then continues in contemporary romance, The McKettrick Men, with their descendants. The Creeds are distant cousins & have their own series/triliogies ect. They’re all cowboys/ranchers at heart and very hot! Not alot of babies/children but a lot of family input/nosiness done with love that gives it a great family feel. Each book can be read as a stand alone or out of order although peripheral characters & previous storylines may be mentioned.The Sone Creek series is very good as well. Now, I’m off to search for these Shannon Stacey books :)

  6. says

    I haven’t read this series (although I own them) so I can’t speak from personal knowledge, but if you’re looking for strong family bonds, I recommend Nora Roberts as well. Also, Victoria Alexander’s Effington series and Loretta Chase’s Carsington Brothers revolve around families. Those are historical, though, so if you’re only looking for contemporaries, those won’t work.

  7. Jennifer S says

    Lauren Dane’s Brown siblings. About siblings. Erotica. So good! Wish there were more siblings!
    First is Laid Bare. Just loved series!

  8. Tabs says

    Wow. Everything I could think of has already been said… and I have already read and enjoyed most of the suggestions so far.

    Maybe Jennifer Crusie? She doesn’t do the series and babies thing, but each book of hers has incredibly detailed and intriguing familial communities.

    I’d start with “Welcome To Temptation.”

    • Jenifer says

      Welcome to Temptation was my introduction to Jennifer Cruise. I read it in a day and a half, lol. I love her humor and she certainly does give some interesting family dynamics in her books.

  9. says

    I second the Susan Mallery recommendation. Try the Lone Star Sisters series first. I think you’d like that.

    If you want OTHER dirty cowboys, read the Six Pack Ranch books by Vivian Arend. They are goooood!!

    From a historical perspective, you might like Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series. It’s got some great family dynamics and tends to focus a lot of the relationship and courtship. :D

  10. says

    You HAVE to read Nora Roberts’ MacGregory series, it tells the story of a big family, and it is delightful, a favourite re-read of mine. I also love her Born In trilogy which is about 3 sisters :-)

    • says

      Gah! I can’t believe I forgot the biggest family Nora Roberts has written, the MacGregors! Great thinking, Stella.

      They’re pretty short ones, Sophia, so you should blow through a few of them in no time.

  11. JenM says

    I love the Konigsburg TX series by Meg Benjamin. The first four books feature four brothers who all end up settling in Konigsburg and meeting their perfect woman. The first is called Venus in Blue Jeans and it’s published by Samhain. Great humor and genuinely likeable characters.

  12. Melissa B says

    I’m thinking Susan Mallery ~~ some of the Nora Roberts books, but I’d think more along her category lines, like the Stanislaski’s, or the O’Hurley’s. I love all her books, too ~~ very family oriented, and center around not just the relationship between hero and heroine, but the relationships between the hero/heroine and their families and friends………something I love when it’s done right, like Shannon did with the Kowalski’s!!

  13. Judy Latham says

    I’d like to suggest Marie Force’s trilogy…the McCarthy’s of Gansett Island. The first one in the series is MAID FOR LOVE. I also enjoyed her GEORGIA ON MY MIND.

    Thanks to all for the recommendations. EXCLUSIVELY YOURS is my very fave contemp. romance.

    • kate says

      I absolutely loved this series by Marie Force and have read it several times. Also Bella Andre’s Sullivan Family series.

      • Chris L. says

        I absolutely love the Marie Force’s Gansett Island books and that lead me to this site, looking for similar books and authors.
        I like Kristen Ashley’s books, Rock Chicks, Motorcycle Men, and others. There are not really babies and children but more friends but really like them.

  14. Corinne says

    I really think Nora Robert’s “Bride Quartet” fits the bill in this sense….I really LOVE Shannon’s Kowalski Clan!! They are all awesome!! (Although Joe & Keri’s story in “Exclusively Yours” is my fav!!) Candis’ book “Second Chance At The Sugar Shack” is an awesome book of love redeemed!! :)

  15. Michelle says

    I love all of Shannon Stacey’s book, I would recommend Jaci Burton, Play by Play series is about a Family 2 are out now and one is coming out in March you won’t be sorry you if read them. Another series not so much contemparyromance would be Maya Banks/Kelley-KGI Series, a big family and lots of romance as well as supense and drama. I read both of those series off of Stacey’s recommendations. I’m so glad I did. That’s just my two cents.

  16. Jennifer Coleman says

    Try the McCarthy’s of Gansett Island by Marie Force. There are three books so far with a fourth coming out this month. Tremendous books that meet your criteria.

  17. Pam B says

    Carly Phillips has a great new series out about siblings. The first one was Serendipity and then there was a novella called Kismet and Destiny just came out. All great books.

    Pam

  18. Readsalot81 says

    Shannon Stacey’s books are a lot of fun :D

    I will wholeheartedly back Nora Roberts for the family fun dynamics. She has the Dream Trilogy (Kate’s story is my favorite) The McKade Brothers, The Concannon sisters, Chesapeake Bay, the Key trilogy (not family – but friends that develop family like ties -) .. *G* And there are many more trilogies to be had. :D

    Susan Mallery’s books are pretty good :)

    On a historical front, Sabrina Jeffries’ Hellions of Halstead Hall, Anne Gracie has the Merridew siblings (The 1st one, the Rake is my top favorite), Jillian Hunter has the Boscastle siblings, and I do like Victoria Alexander’s books that revolve around the Effingtons.

  19. Katrina says

    I love, love, love, the Kowalski’s, however I stopped at the 4th book. It is one based on their cousins and while I enjoyed it the excerpts and reviews for the last 2 just don’t seem to be true to the form of the Kowalski we know and love. I have read the Linda Leal Miller Mckettrcks and loved them. Nora Roberts has a series based on the MacGregor’s that I really enjoyed. Lisa Kleypas maybe my all time favorite author although some of her newer stuff I didn’t care for. I will admit to not being a reader until later on in life and her Wallflower series is one of the first I read and is absolutely one of my favorite’s. She has several series that are both contemporary and historical and I would recomment them all, just go to her website as there are too many to name. Thanks for your website as I now have alot more books I need to read lol

  20. Lisa says

    You guys have given me a great lead on reads…Thanks! I wanted to recommend the McCarthy’s of Gansett Island – I have read all 8 and loved every one of them. I am reading the Kowalski’s now on your recommendation.

  21. Bobbi says

    You should read Jaci Burton’s play by play series!! It’s about the Riley family. They’re all really hot professional sports players. Steamy and sweet :)

  22. Bobbi says

    Also, everything by Carolyn Brown is amazing!!! Especially the lucky series, which is about close cousins if I remember correctly.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.